Volunteer Spotlight: Todd Goodman

Todd Goodman

Todd Goodman
Client Operations Manager, State Street Corporation

How long have you volunteered for Junior Achievement (JA) and why did you want to become involved?

This is my 2nd year volunteering for JA. As a child I always wanted to be a teacher because I was fortunate to have excellent teachers who influenced and inspired me to achieve.  My career path took a different direction, but volunteering for JA allows me to give back what I have been given.

What kind of impact do you think the JA lessons have on students?
I believe the JA lessons awaken innovation in the hearts of students.  It makes them aware of what is required of them in the future and motivates them to think like future business owners!

You recently taught as part of State Street’s “JA in a Day” at Hogan-Spring Glen Elementary. What was it like to be a part of that?
Out of all the volunteer opportunities I am afforded, JA in a Day is my favorite!  It is so rewarding to see how excited and engaged the students are about learning and how appreciative they are about the volunteers being in their class.

What do you like most about volunteering for Junior Achievement?
The material is excellent, the support the volunteers receive is second to none and the entire experience is so rewarding!

Any special moments from your volunteer experience you’d like to share?
I always eat with my class and I enjoy interacting with the students.  I also enjoy when the students ask questions about a lesson and they demonstrate they are excited about learning something new. One very special thing is when the students sign my JA banner and let me know how much they enjoyed the lessons and want me to come back.

WIN_20141009_104734_Copy

Todd Goodman teaching a 5th grade class at Hogan-Spring Glen Elementary for State Street Corporation’s “JA in a Day.”

If you are interested in making an impact like Todd, contact us today at 904-398-9944 or go to jajax.com to fill out a volunteer form.

Leave a Reply

